Classes

Wednesday, January 22, through Wednesday, March 11, 2020
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Beacon writer Donna Minkowitz will teach an 8-week memoir workshop this winter on Wednesday nights starting January 22. The course meets from 7 to 9 PM and focuses on craft – particularly on using the five senses, lyricism, emotion, storytelling, and critical thinking to create profound and relatable works of memoir. Students will get frequent feedback in a supportive atmosphere. Class size is limited to eight. The fee is $275.

Read more...

Minkowitz has taught memoir writing for 20 years, at venues including the 92nd Street Y, the New York Writers Workshop, The Kitchen, and the Mt. Chocorua Writers Workshop. Her recent memoir Growing Up Golem was a finalist for both a Lambda Literary Award and for the Judy Grahn Nonfiction Award, and she won a Lambda Literary Award for her first memoir, Ferocious Romance: What My Encounters with the Right Taught Me about Sex, God, and Fury. Minkowitz has also written for the New York Times Book Review, The Nation, and the Village Voice.

Please email Minkowitz46@Gmail.com for specific location (Beacon, New York 12508)

[]

Thursday, February 27,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, March 5,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Wednesday, March 11, through Thursday, March 12, 2020
5:00pm - 8:00pm


Loopy Mango
500 Main St, Beacon

We are so excited to announce a Loopy Knit Night that will take place the second Wednesday of each month! Bring any knitting or crocheting project to work on and hang out with us and other local crafters! Don’t have a project? Let us help you find one. We will also be offering a beginner class during this time, so come join us and learn how to knit! (more info)

[]

Thursday, March 12,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, March 19,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, March 26,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, April 2,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Wednesday, April 8, through Thursday, April 9, 2020
5:00pm - 8:00pm


Loopy Mango
500 Main St, Beacon

We are so excited to announce a Loopy Knit Night that will take place the second Wednesday of each month! Bring any knitting or crocheting project to work on and hang out with us and other local crafters! Don’t have a project? Let us help you find one. We will also be offering a beginner class during this time, so come join us and learn how to knit! (more info)

[]

Thursday, April 9,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, April 16,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, April 23,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, April 30,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, May 7,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Wednesday, May 13, through Thursday, May 14, 2020
5:00pm - 8:00pm


Loopy Mango
500 Main St, Beacon

We are so excited to announce a Loopy Knit Night that will take place the second Wednesday of each month! Bring any knitting or crocheting project to work on and hang out with us and other local crafters! Don’t have a project? Let us help you find one. We will also be offering a beginner class during this time, so come join us and learn how to knit! (more info)

[]

Thursday, May 14,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, May 21,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, May 28,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, June 4,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Wednesday, June 10, through Thursday, June 11, 2020
5:00pm - 8:00pm


Loopy Mango
500 Main St, Beacon

We are so excited to announce a Loopy Knit Night that will take place the second Wednesday of each month! Bring any knitting or crocheting project to work on and hang out with us and other local crafters! Don’t have a project? Let us help you find one. We will also be offering a beginner class during this time, so come join us and learn how to knit! (more info)

[]

Thursday, June 11,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, June 18,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, June 25,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, July 2,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Wednesday, July 8, through Thursday, July 9, 2020
5:00pm - 8:00pm


Loopy Mango
500 Main St, Beacon

We are so excited to announce a Loopy Knit Night that will take place the second Wednesday of each month! Bring any knitting or crocheting project to work on and hang out with us and other local crafters! Don’t have a project? Let us help you find one. We will also be offering a beginner class during this time, so come join us and learn how to knit! (more info)

[]

Thursday, July 9,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, July 16,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, July 23,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, July 30,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]

Thursday, August 6,
7:00pm - 9:00pm


Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street, Beacon

[]
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9